Board of Directors 2022-2023

Past President
Christine Beelen

Donna Shields-Poë

Vice President
Kathy Yach

Recording Secretary
Leslie Jones

Corresponding Secretary
Barbara Hykle

Beth Burn

Assistant Treasurer
Dorothy Scorsone

Member Services Director
Jenni Barbarie

Communications Director
Holly Heser-Quirk

Property Management Director
Zenia Leigh

Social Director
Barbara Burton

Bargain Box Director
Patricia Sanders

Betty Rehbein
Dj (Dorothy) Smith

About Us

The May Court Club of Ottawa is Canada’s oldest women’s service club. Founded in 1898 to provide “young women of leisure” a vehicle to serve the wider community, it has evolved into a dynamic group of women from many walks of life who are dedicated to community service.

Providing thousands of volunteer hours and monetary grants to our community, the Club is recognized by Revenue Canada as a charitable organization and operates under the direction of a Board of Directors elected by the membership at the Annual General Meeting.

June Callwood Outstanding Achievement Award for Voluntarism (group) for 2019

June Callwood award
I am very pleased to share that The May Court Club of Ottawa was chosen as one of the recipients of the June Callwood Outstanding Achievement Award for Voluntarism (group) for 2019.  The award was presented virtually by the Minister of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries, Lisa MacLeod on January 27, 2021.  The May Court Club of Ottawa has a long history of service, often caring for the vulnerable members of our community. We were founded in 1898 by Lady Aberdeen, the wife of the Governor General of the time.  She wanted to find a way for young women of leisure to return service to the community.  We’ve come a long way from those days but our commitment to service remains the same.  Lady Aberdeen would be proud.

Currently our major contribution is to provide, free of charge, the property of Hospice Care Ottawa’s May Court Hospice.  Along with providing all the physical property maintenance costs, many of our volunteers also work with the staff as they provide outstanding end-of-life care to individuals as well as supporting their families. We also provide financial assistance through scholarships to two qualified nurses entering the first or second year of study at an approved Ontario University and to a qualified student entering the first or second year of the Master’s Program in Information Studies at the University of Ottawa. Pre-pandemic we also awarded grants to small community organizations, provided a nutrition program at six community houses, and operated the lending library at the Civic Hospital.

Our volunteers spend thousands of hours in working to bring these projects to fruition including operating the May Court Bargain Box on Laurier Street which is our largest source of funds.  We also normally hold a number of fundraising events throughout the year.  We look forward to reintroducing these activities again after the restrictions to combat COVID transmission have passed. If you would like to support the May Court Club of Ottawa, please go to our website at

Christine Beelen
President, 2020-2022,
The May Court Club of Ottawa

A recording was made of the June Callwood Outstanding Achievement Award for Voluntarism (Group) presentation on January 27, 2021.

While the primary activity is to serve the community we also encourage social interaction among our members through various social activities.

Our Annual Report provides details of our activities as well. Click Annual Report 2021-2022 to see the latest issue.

To learn more about us, please go to Our History or explore the other menu links on our website. If you would like to contact the Club, visit the Contact Us Page. And if you are interested in becoming a member, check out our Become a Member page for details.